christine's bible study

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever. Isa 40:8

God accepts me as I am

God accepts me as I am.

The Lord delighted only in your fathers, to love them; and He chose their descendants after them, you above all peoples, as it is this day. God will redeem my soul from the power of Sheol, for He will receive me. But you, Israel, My servant, Jacob, whom I have chosen, descendant of Abraham My friend; You whom I have taken from the ends of the earth, and called from its remotest parts, and said to you, "You are My servant, I have chosen you and not rejected you."
And the Pharisees and scribes complained, saying, "This Man receives sinners and eats with them." "All who the Father gives Me will come to Me, and the one who comes to Me I will certainly not cast out." "You did not choose Me, but I chose you, and appointed you, that you would go and bear fruit, and that your fruit would remain, so that whatever you ask of the Father in My name He may give to you."
The one who eats is not to regard with contempt the one who does not eat, and the one who does not eat is not to judge the one who eats, for God has accepted him. Therefore, accept one another, just as Christ also accepted us to the glory of God. He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world that we would be holy and blameless before Him.

The truth is, God has accepted me into His family. He has received me, chosen me, and welcomed me into His presence. This is because of the greatness of His love, grace, and mercy, and not because I merited His acceptance by works. This is the truth that the Bible teaches – He has not rejected me or cast me out. Thoughts and feelings of rejection are lies which the enemy lies to us. We do not have to accept those lies. We can reject the lies and believe the truth instead.

This is how I trained my heart and mind to receive and believe the truth: “I am feeling rejected, but it is only a feeling brought about by my past experiences. It is not a true reflection of my relationship with God or what He is doing in my life. Those things are determined by the word of God. I know God has accepted me because this is what it says: ___ repeat Scripture ___.”

The word of God is powerful, living and active, the weapon of our warfare which is effective against all the lies of the enemy and mighty to tear down strongholds (2 Cor 10:4).

(Our daughter is visiting us this week and next from out of state. We don’t get to see her very often, so I will resume the chapter study through the New Testament when she goes home. In the mean time, please enjoy and share these Scripture pictures as you tear down strongholds of the enemy’s lies in your heart and mind, and replace them with strongholds of truth.)

2 responses to “God accepts me as I am

  1. Camilla Anderson Monday 22 July 2013 at 10:29 am

    This was very encouraging to me today. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

