christine's bible study

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever. Isa 40:8

God has forgiven me

God has forgiven me.

For You, O God, are good, and ready to forgive, and abundant in mercy to all who call upon You. Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits: Who forgives all your iniquities, Who heals all your diseases, Who redeems your life from destruction, Who crowns you with lovingkindness and tender mercies. "I, I am He who blots out your transgressions for My own sake, and I will not remember your sins."
Let the wicked forsake His way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts; let him return to the LORD, that He may have compassion on him, and to our God, for He will abundantly pardon. "For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more." You will again have compassion on us and will subdue our iniquities. You will cast all our sins into the depths of the sea.
Let all bitterness, wrath, anger, clamor, and evil speaking be put away from you, with all malice. And be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another even as God in Christ forgave you. And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with Him, having forgiven us all our transgressions, having wiped out the record of debt that stood against us, which was contrary to us. He has taken it out of the way, having nailed it to the cross, If we say we have no sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

The truth is, God has forgiven me for my sins, forgetting them and not holding them over my head. He does not resent me, but has given up His claim for return compensation, (since my sin incurred a debt toward Him). He has freely canceled that debt. I did not merit His forgiveness by works, but because the Lord is gracious, longsuffering, and abundant in mercy and lovingkindness, He has forgiven me. This is the truth that the Bible teaches. When I refuse to forgive myself or others, I elevate my flawed human judgment above the just and righteous judgment of God. Thoughts and feelings of guilt, once we have repented and turned from our sins, are lies which the enemy lies to us. We do not have to accept those lies. We can reject the lies and believe the truth instead.

This is how I trained my heart and mind to receive and believe the truth: “I am feeling guilty, but it is only a feeling brought about by my past experiences. It is not a true reflection of my relationship with God or what He is doing in my life. Those things are determined by the word of God. I know God has forgiven me because this is what it says: ___ repeat Scripture ___.”

The word of God is powerful, living and active, the weapon of our warfare which is effective against all the lies of the enemy and mighty to tear down strongholds (2 Cor 10:4).

(Our daughter is visiting us this week and next from out of state. We don’t get to see her very often, so I will resume the chapter study through the New Testament when she goes home. In the mean time, please enjoy and share these Scripture pictures as you tear down strongholds of the enemy’s lies in your heart and mind, and replace them with strongholds of truth.)

Leave a Reply

