christine's bible study

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever. Isa 40:8

God will help me

God will help me

Be strong and courageous, do not fear or be dismayed because of the kind of Assyria nor because of all the horde that is with him, for the One with us is greater than the one with him. With him is only an arm of flesh, but with us is the Lord our God, to help us and to fight our battles. God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is with those who uphold my life.
I will lift up my eyes to the mountains; from where shall my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth. Fear not, for I am with you; Be not dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you ... Yes, I will help you. I will uphold you with My righteous right hand. For I am the Lord your God who upholds your right hand, who says to you: 'Do not fear, I will help you!' Do not fear, I will help you," declares the Lord, "and your Redeemer is the Holy One of Israel."
And I will pray the Father, and He will give you another Helper, that He may abide with you forever - the Spirit of truth. whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him, nor knows Him; but you know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you. I will not leave you orphans, I will come to you. Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need. So that we confidently say, "The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid. What will man do to me?"

The truth is, God is not an absent and far off God, but He is very present and involved in my life. I am not alone, for He will provide His assistance and support. This is because of the greatness of His love, grace, and mercy, and not because I merited His help by works. This is the truth that the Bible teaches. Thoughts and feelings of despair or hopelessness are lies which the enemy lies to us. We do not have to accept those lies. We can reject the lies and believe the truth instead.

This is how I trained my heart and mind to receive and believe the truth: “I am feeling discouraged, but it is only a feeling brought about by my past experiences. It is not a true reflection of my relationship with God or what He is doing in my life. Those things are determined by the word of God. I know God will help me because this is what it says: ___ repeat Scripture ___.”

The word of God is powerful, living and active, the weapon of our warfare which is effective against all the lies of the enemy and mighty to tear down strongholds (2 Cor 10:4).

(Our daughter is visiting us this week and next from out of state. We don’t get to see her very often, so I will resume the chapter study through the New Testament when she goes home. In the mean time, please enjoy and share these Scripture pictures as you tear down strongholds of the enemy’s lies in your heart and mind, and replace them with strongholds of truth.)

Leave a Reply

