christine's bible study

The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever. Isa 40:8

God will strengthen me

God will strengthen me.

The joy of the LORD is my strength. I love you, O LORD my strength. The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust, my shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. For who is God but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God? It is God who arms me with strength and makes my way perfect.
The Lord is my strength and my shield, my heart trusted in Him and I am helped. Therefore my heart greatly rejoices and with my song I will praise Him. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. For thus says the LORD God, the Holy One of Israel: "In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and confidence shall be your strength."
Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might, He increases strength. ... those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and not be faint. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

The truth is, God will strengthen me when I come to the end of myself. He will increase my capacity for exertion and increase my power and endurance. This is because of the greatness of His love, grace, and mercy, and not because I merited His strength by works. This is the truth that the Bible teaches – He has not left me on my own to deal with the difficulties of life. Thoughts and feelings of powerlessness are lies which the enemy lies to us. We do not have to accept those lies. We can reject the lies and believe the truth instead.

This is how I trained my heart and mind to receive and believe the truth: “I am feeling weak, but it is only a feeling brought about by my past experiences. It is not a true reflection of my relationship with God or what He is doing in my life. Those things are determined by the word of God. I know God will strengthen me because this is what it says: ___ repeat Scripture ___.”

The word of God is powerful, living and active, the weapon of our warfare which is effective against all the lies of the enemy and mighty to tear down strongholds (2 Cor 10:4).

(Our daughter is visiting us this week and next from out of state. We don’t get to see her very often, so I will resume the chapter study through the New Testament when she goes home. In the mean time, please enjoy and share these Scripture pictures as you tear down strongholds of the enemy’s lies in your heart and mind, and replace them with strongholds of truth.)

Leave a Reply

